Entry conditions & Residence permit


Legal requirements for entry and stay are different for EU/EEA/Swiss nationals* and third country nationals** coming to Slovakia. 

This information will help you identify the procedures and documents you will need in your specific situation and an overview of the formalities towards the national authorities related to your stay in Slovakia.

Please note that this text is only informative. It was elaborated on the basis of information available and valid for the year 2023; it doesn't contain exhaustive information about the stay of foreigners in Slovakia in general, and it gives no right for claims or legitimate expectations of any kind. You can find more detailed information in the Act No. 404/2011 on the Residence of Foreigners. The act in the Slovak language is available on the Legislative and Information Portal Slov-Lex. The English version of the respective act is available at website of the Ministry of Interior of the Slovak Republic.


Do you want to know how to proceed? Check the:

Guide to administrative duties - ONLINE Navigation



The European Union (EU) comprises 27 member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

The European Economic Area (EEA) comprises all the 27 EU member states, and the 3 EFTA member states - Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Switzerland is not a member state of EU nor EEA but Swiss citizens enjoy the same rights as the EU/EEA nationals.


A third country is a term used to define any country of the world that is NOT one of the 27 European Union member states, EEA member states or Switzerland.

Entry conditions for third country nationals